Clinique Moisture Surge Gel

 

Hiya fellow beauty junkies, so I thought it was time to bring you lovelies a product review. You know when you have days when you just have to treat yourself and forget about everything else, well I was having one of those days and decided to purchase some Clinique products I’ve had my eye on for a while, Clinique’s Moisture Surge Extended Thirst Relief Gel.

This gel is promoted as being suitable for all skin types. Now Clinique have their own Skin Type Range numbered from 1 – 4 with:

1 – Very Dry to Dry Skin,

2 – Dry to Combination Skin,

3 – Oily,

4 – Very Oily Skin (advised may be too strong for Oiliness just in the t-zone and cheeks, so best to start on type 3).

I’m usually dubious when it comes to products claiming to work on all skin types, now my skin can be quite Oily and is prone to breakouts. From years of trying far too many face creams/gels/sorbets I couldn’t imagine how it would be possible for a single moisturiser to not be too heavy when applied onto oily skin, but also provide enough moisture for someone with dry skin,, REALLY?? So as you can imagine I wasn’t expecting miracles. For 4 weeks I was applying a tiny amount in the mornings (a little really does go a long way), and to my surprise from the very first day I noticed how smooth and soft my face looked and felt, even to the point I kept pestering everyone to ‘feel my face’ (yeah, I think they thought I was going crazy 😉 ) This gel left my face feeling well moisturised and it felt like I had nothing on at all. I was actually amazed by the results, it left my face feeling sooo smooth  (I’m emphasising on the so because believe me it was seriously smooth). When I applied underneath foundation it produces results similar to using a primer giving a beautiful finish. This gel managed to keep my skin semi matte from 12pm till 8pm, yeah a good 8 hours. Normally I’m usually blotting my nose and t-zone area after 3 hours but this gel really did impress me and held-up well.

Claims:

Light, comfortable cream/gel plumps skin with hydration for a full 24 hours. Fine lines, flakiness and tightness are washed away. One ‘drink’ and skin looks and feels happier, healthier for All Skin Types.

My Feelings:

Well it definitely delivered on being light and moisturising, can’t say about the fine lines as of yet 😉 BUT I absolutely love this gel and found it very light and moisturising.

Ingredients:

This gel does not contain any oils, so most of the moisturising properties come from the Glycerin and Aloe Vera, which is best known for its cooling and skin healing properties. I noticed this gel also contains Caffeine, which is becoming a familiar trend in eye creams, as caffeine works by drawing water out of you fat cells making the surrounding area appear plumper and smooth as well as its anti-oxidant properties (substance which protects your cells from damaging molecules)

Overall Beauty Rating:

I would give this Gel a (4/5), purely losing that crucial 1 mark on the high price tag, but it definitely did what it claimed for my skin. At £32 for a 50ml you are receiving a lot of product, and like I said a little does go a long way. It’s just debating whether you could include this within your regular skincare routine. I guess a bonus point with regards to purchasing directly from Clinique (counter/ website) is the fact they tend to offer you loads of free samples to try out, even with single purchases; which is great if you just feel like treating yourself or you can do what I do and just ask for samples anyway (if you don’t ask you don’t get 😉 ) What also surprised me, which is a point worth mentioning, the price for this product was exactly the same on the Clinique website compared to sites such as Debenhams or House of Frasier, with the Clinique site giving you a few more goodies with your purchase, so it’s definitely worth shopping around to get the best deals. If I’m honest I’ve spent so much money on skincare products from high-range to low-range and none have impressed me as much as this little beauty, so maybe I could get my other half to treat me to a shopping spree, what do you think 😉 .

That’s all for now stay beauty obsessed. xx

Clinique Offer: At the moment you can get a free London Ionic Bag with purchases over £40, plus a choice of 2 Complimentary Treats out of a choice of 4 throughout the Clinique range. Happy Shopping Beauties.

Leave a Reply

