Max Factor Eye Brightening Tonal Black Volumising Mascara

Hiya guys, first my sincerest apologies for being MIA for the past week, relocating at work at the moment so it’s been a bit hectic. So I thought I would start this beautiful weekend with a review on one of the new range of Mascara’s recently launched by Max Factor. I have to admit when I first laid my eyes on them I was very intrigued, claiming to enhance your natural eye colour and volumise individual lashes. Now I promised myself I wouldn’t purchase any more mascara’s until I’ve used and reviewed the many I still have yet to use, but alas I caved in and had to give it a go.

In the UK Max Factor’s Tonal Mascaras are currently retailing at £7.99 from Boots and Superdrug, and are available in three options depending on your eye colour (there is a 4th one for Hazel eyes – Black Gold, I don’t believe it’s going to be launched in the UK but I’m not 100% sure):

Green Eyes – Black Ruby (Red Gem Fragments)

Blue Eyes – Black Sapphire (Blue Gem Fragments)

Brown Eyes – Black Pearl (Silver Gem Fragments)

The brightening effect of this mascara is due to the incorporation of tiny reflective particles within the formula; helping to open the eyes. The name of each  mascara is related to the miniscule gem toned coloured beads also incorporated into the formula, aiding to complement the 3 eye colours.

(in the pic below I only applied the mascara to my Right eye using 2 coats [your left], with close-up pics underneath)

(Above: without Mascara)

(Above: with Max Factor Mascara)

Now this is where I’m torn, you see me personally I didn’t notice any brightening effect on my eyes (not sure if the shade of your eyes has an influence to this effect, as I have dark brown eyes), but I did really love how this mascara applied and the overall finished effect. The shape of the brush allowed me to easily coat my entire lashes especially the innermost and outermost lashes, adding length and defining each lash without causing the notorious spider lashes. If you’re looking for length and definition, this mascara definitely will not let you down. I really fell head over heels for this mascara, that I even went out the next day and bought another one while it was on offer (yep, I’m one of those “must have a spare one” beauty buyers 😉 ) But in terms of what it claims to do I’m not 100% sold, BUT I can not let that distract me from how impressed I was with this mascara. It defines and adds volume to each lash without clumping, producing noticeably longer, fuller lashes and I would definitely recommend giving it try.

Has anyone else tried the Black Ruby or Black Sapphire, did you feel it gave your eyes a brightening effect? xxx

Leave a Reply

